Glossary Manager (glossary list)

目次


    Information in Glossary List screen

    This screen displays a list of glossaries registered for each organization. You can also search for glossary by specifying criteria. To add a new glossary, click [+ Add New Glossary] at the top of the screen.
    • Search criteria area
      • Glossary Name
    • List of glossaries
      • Import: When you perform [Import] on an existing glossary, an overwrite import is performed. Please note that the contents of the selected glossary will be completely replaced. The settings of the source language / target language are not changed. You can manually add terms from Glossary Details screen after the import.
      • Export: When you perform [Export] on an existing glossary, the contents of the glossary are exported as a glossary file (file format: .tbx). The glossary name will be used for the exported file name. (For the glossary "Terminology_ENJA", the filename will be "Terminology_ENJA.tbx".)
      • Edit: Click pencil icon to open Glossary Details screen, where you can view, change, or delete the glossary information

    What is a glossary?

    • A glossary is a set of terms (pairs of the source term and translated term) that are to be used for the specific group or project. A glossary is used in Quick PE during the import process of the translation files, and also during the verification and re-translation processes in File Editor by linguists (translators and reviewers). You can set up a glossary with the following information.
    Glossary is shared with the other project managers in your organization. In Glossary Management menu, you can search the glossaries and view their details registered by another project manager in the same organization. In addition, you can edit (update/delete) and save the glossary and its terms registered by another project manager.

    Available files for import

    Please note that the following restrictions apply to files that can be imported as glossaries on Glossary Details screen.
    • Supported file format and extensions: tbx
    • File size: 500MB
    • Number of lines/characters: No restrictions
    • Language pair (direction): Both the source and target language is included in the supported language codes (see above)
    "tbx" stands for Term Base eXchange and is a standard data format for term data. It is used by major CAT tools to handle glossaries, but because it is XML data, it can also be processed in a text editor or XML editor.

    About the language settings of the glossary

     Since a glossary consists of pairs of terms in two languages (source/target), you can specify either language as the source (and target). For example, when you import a glossary (tbx file) which contains the term pairs of "en" and "ja", if you set the source language to "en", the English term will be registered as the "source" and the Japanese term will be registered as the "target". Likewise, if the source language is set to "ja", the Japanese term will be registered as "source" and the English term will be registered as "target". However, only one source/target pair can be set for each glossary. You cannot save both "en" source term and "ja" source term in one glossary. 

    In Project Details screen, you can select only glossaries whose source language is identical to the project. If you want to use a glossary in both directions (either "en" to "ja" or "ja" to "en" in the example above), you need to create two glossaries by importing the same tbx file.

    How to specify a glossary to use in a project

    •  After registering a glossary, you can select glossaries to be available for the group in Group Details screen. Only glossaries registered in the organization can be selected in the screen. You can select multiple glossaries for each group. 
    •  Next, select glossaries to be available for the project in Project Details screen. Only glossaries available for the group, and those both source and target languages are identical to the project's first priority MT engine, can be selected in the screen. You can select multiple glossaries for each project. 
    •  You can delete a glossary even if it is currently being used (selected) by a group or project. If you delete data from [Delete] button at the bottom of Glossary Details screen, you will not be able to reference it in the verification process on File Editor screen even if it is already selected on Group Details screen or Project Details screen. 
    Even when one or more glossaries are selected for a group, a project manager can choose not to specify (not use) a glossary for the project. On the other hand, if no glossary is available for a group, you cannot use any one for the project.